Canadian Men’s Mid-Amateur Championship

Good luck to Niakwa’s Todd Fanning the 2017 MB Mid-Am Champion and Jay Doyle the 2015 MB Mid-Am Champion, in the upcoming Golf Canada 2017 Canadian Mid-Am Week. Tuesday, Aug 22 – Fri, Aug 25 at Wascana Country Club in Regina, SK!


‘UNIVERSITY OF MANITOBA – BISON GOLF – Fall Friendraising Classic

The Bison Golf Teams invite you to participate in their annual  ” Fall Friendraising Classic” to be held this year at Elmhurst Country Club, Wednesday September 27th, 2017.

Enter a team of three or as an individual and play an 18-hole round with a member of the Bisons Golf Team. The format is a net Stableford with an added “Skins” option. A reception and Bison-themed dinner follows golf.

Date: Wednesday, September 27th, 2017
Time: 1:00 Pm
Place: At Elmhurst Golf and Country club

Can’t make the date? 
Consider sponsoring a team or making an individual donation. Your past, present and future support are appreciated.

While golf is not recognized as a Canadian Interuniversity Sport, one way the golf team generates funds to support their golf programs is through their annual Fall Classic.  The event brings together teams of three from local clubs in a friendly competition of golf and skins in the company of a Bison Golf Team Member.  A wonderful dinner and reception follow with participation of all the bison players.  Cost of the event is $650.00, which includes a  $500.00 charitable donations receipt issued by the University of Manitoba.

Funds raised through the event assist with off season training at the golf dome, travel costs, competition entry fees, equipment, uniforms, accommodation and coaching.

Niakwa Country Club has been a strong supporter of university golf and the Fall Friendraising Classic from its inception in 2011.  Niakwa members and players through the program among many others include:
Spencer Harris      Terry James     Jill Hardy     Brian Kornelsen
Scott Markham      Liam Mulhall     Terry Reilly     Joey Ringaert
Clayton Salked       Burke Weibe

Bison Golf is committed to developing champions on and off the golf course.  Support of Bison Golf helps you connect with student athletes that represent our province and helps keep the best young Manitoba golfers in Manitoba so they can receive a quality and affordable education.  Ultimately Bison Alumni become leaders and contributing members of our community, living, working and supporting Manitoba Golf.

Help continue  Niakwa’s strong tradition and support of University Golf and the Fall Friendraising Classic  and join one of our Niakwa Teams for the event.

For more details on how to enter a team or to make a contribution contact Don Smith at 

Ladies Club Championship

Members are invited to participate in the Club Championship weekend. Flights will be based on handicaps.

Date: Saturday & Sunday, August 19th & 20th
Morning Tee Times

Format: Individual Stroke Play
Entry: No fee to register

Register: Online registration or contact the Pro Shop, 204-256-2013 or register in person before 9 am Thursday, August 17th.
For more information or to register CLICK HERE! 

2016 Ladies’ Champions
A Flight (0-18):                                               Jill Hardy
B Flight (19-26):                                              Shashi Soni
C Flight (27+):                                                 Chander Gupta
Senior Flight (50+ yrs):                              Tammy Gibson

This is scheduled as two medal rounds for the Ladies.  To qualify as a Senior, the player must be 50 years of age prior to the start of the competition.  “A” handicap Juniors are eligible to compete in the Amateur division.  Players will be grouped in threesomes based on handicaps.  On the first day, the lowest handicap group will tee-off first.  On the second day, the groups will be determined by scores and the lowest score group will tee off last.  The player with the lowest gross score will be declared the Club Champion and will have her name engraved on the Club Championship trophy.  Since a player may only win one award, if a Senior wins the Club Championship, the Senior with the next lowest score will be declared the Senior Club Champion.  Ties for winners will be broken by sudden death play-off.  All other ties will be honored and the prize money divided.  Handicap Divisions will be set based on total sign-up grouping with the three groups being equal in number.  Each handicap division will have a winner, a runner-up, and a net prize.


All members are invited to participate in the Club Championship weekend. Flights will be based on Handicaps.

Date: Friday August 18th (open flight), Saturday August 19th, Sunday August 20th

Format:Individual Stroke Play
Men’s Open Flight (0-9 Handicap) 
Friday Afternoon Tee Times
Saturday & Sunday Morning Tee Times
Men’s Flighted Championship
Saturday & Sunday Morning Tee Times
A Flight (0-9)
B Flight (10-14)
C Flight (15-19
D Flight (20+)

Entry: No fee to register

Register:  Online registration or contact the Pro Shop, 204-256-2013 or register in person before 9 am Thursday, August 17th

For more information or to register CLICK HERE! 

Pro Junior Championship

Congrats to Niakwa Pro Patrick Perron along with teammates Evan Doyle, Michael Tanchak, and Thomas Coldwell on winning the Pro Junior Championship!


« back